One zero, no heroes

The liberal group Americans for Democratic Action has named U.S. Rep. John Boozman of Rogers one of its “House Zeros,” meaning that he voted against the ADA position every time on 20 selected issues in 2005. Over 60 other representatives, all Republicans, like Boozman, joined him on the House Zero list.

The ADA also selects a “House Heroes” list — those who voted the ADA position 100 percent of the time — but no members of the Arkansas delegation were on it. Rep. Vic Snyder of Little Rock had the highest ADA score, 80. Rep. Marion Berry of Gillett had a 65 and Rep. Mike Ross of Prescott 60. All three are Democrats.

In the Senate, Blanche Lincoln just missed the “Senate Heroes” list. She scored 95, voting against the ADA position only once in 20 votes on selected issues. Mark Pryor scored 90. Both are Democrats.

Baptist politics

Ronnie Floyd, the conservative Republican pastor of the huge First Baptist Church of Springdale, has drawn an opponent in the race for president of the Southern Baptist Convention. He’s Frank Page, pastor of First Baptist Church of Taylors, S.C., a much smaller church than Floyd’s. The election apparently will be a contest between an arch-conservative (Floyd) and a somewhat-less-conservative (Page). Liberals either left voluntarily or were driven out of the SBC years ago, and even those who might be described as “moderate” have been on the defensive since a militant conservative faction seized control of the denomination in the ’80s. One of the leaders of that take-over, Paige Patterson, president of Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary in Fort Worth, has endorsed Floyd. The president will be chosen at a convention in Greensboro, N.C., June 13 and 14. According to the Arkansas Baptist News, “After a decade of steady decline, attendance at the Southern Baptist Convention (SBC) is expected to jump this year, amid ripples of unrest with the current leadership and perhaps the first openly contested presidential election since 1994.”

Why not the Big Tomato?

The nickname czars — led by Mayor Jim Dailey and “Nickname Little Rock Chair” David Bazzel — have spoken. Through June, you can vote on an official nickname for La Petite Roche.

A committee produced these six suggestions:

• America’s Gem

• The Rock

• River City

• Rock Town

• Southern Comfort

• Rock City

After public response, Dailey said the city would choose one and “work with professionals to position not only the nickname but also to promote it.”

Opinions can be expressed on the Little Rock website,, by e-mailing, by faxing to City Hall at 371-4498, or by picking up a form at LR City Hall, the River Market, Community Centers, Neighborhood Alert Centers, and the Willie L. Hinton Neighborhood Resource Center.

Add a comment