Entertainment » Best Bets

Piano champ opens ASO’s Masterworks season


1 comment
YAKUSHEV: With ASO, Quapaw Quartet.
  • YAKUSHEV: With ASO, Quapaw Quartet.

Ilya Yakushev, a late fill-in on the Arkansas Symphony Orchestra’s schedule, helps the ASO open its Masterworks season with two concerts this weekend. The 2005 World Piano Champion will join the ASO for shows at 8 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 16, and 3 p.m. Sunday, Sept. 17, at Robinson Center Music Hall.

Yakushev will also perform Tuesday, Sept. 19, at the Clinton Presidential Library with the Quapaw Quartet when the ASO’s River Rhapsodies Chamber Series kicks off at 7 p.m. with “Beethoven and Schumann.”

With the ASO, Yakushev will perform Prokoviev’s “Piano Concert No. 2” and the less frantic Brahms “Symphony No. 2.” The ASO opens the concert with Shostakovich’s “Ballet Suite No. 1.”

Tickets range from $15 to $50.

The Chamber show will feature works by Liszt, Beethoven and Schumann, featuring Yakushev. Tickets are $25. Showtime is 7 p.m. Call 666-1761 for tickets to the weekend symphony concerts and the Chamber show.



Showing 1-1 of 1


Add a comment