News » Cover Stories

2001 Academic All-Star nominees

Judges had many hard choices.


The veteran educators who selected this year's Academic All-Star team were faced with a daunting task — choosing the winners from a group of students twice as large.

The differences were, in many cases marginal. Most nominees were at or near the top of their classes, with high test scores and impressive achievements in school and community activities.

These were the finalists, who came within a hair of the top spots:


Martin Patrick Eady

Southside High School

Fort Smith

Wesley Byron Hallmark

Arkansas Baptist High School

Little Rock

Justin Kinkel-Schuster

Greenwood High School

Peter Andrew Laakman

Pulaski Academy

Little Rock

Luke Peters

Sylvan Hills High School


Stuart Pierce

Pine Bluff High School

John T. Rothert

Lakeside High School

Hot Springs

Richard H. White

Jonesboro High School

Jeremy Ryan Williams

North Little Rock High School

Thomas Wolfe

Dollarway High School

Pine Bluff


Katherine Rose Brannon

Batesville High School

Casey Calder

Clarksville High School

Katie Cunningham

Cabot High School

Mary Floyd

Glen Rose High School


Crystal Lee Garner

Danville High School

Tiffany Gunn

McClellan High School

Little Rock

Christen Jo Hall

Valley Springs High School


Bethany Houk

Arkansas Baptist High School

Little Rock

Emily Katherine Jordan

Searcy High School

Lauren Rebecca Lewis

Rogers High School

Add a comment