And in other Arkansas personnel news | Arkansas Blog

And in other Arkansas personnel news



Talk about an anti-climax after Pharaoh of Football, but nonetheless, a couple of Arkansas personnel items of note:

* UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS BOARD OF TRUSTEES: Any moment now you're going to hear Gov. Mike Beebe has appointed Dr. Stephen Broughton of Pine Bluff to the UA Board, succeeding Dr. Carl Johnson of Little Rock, whose term expired. I'd reported him as a potential pick earlier. He's a psychiatrist — a happy background for UAMS — and currently a member of the War Memorial Stadium Commission. His appointment assures that the board will continue to have one African-American member.

* NEW FORESTRY HEAD: Gov. Mike Beebe's office says the governor has signed off on the Forestry Commission's choice of Joe Fox, who'd been with the Nature Conservancy, to be the new head of the Arkansas Forestry Commission. I reported this pick Sunday morning. He succeeds John Shannon, who was forced to resign after revelations about agency money problems.

More from the governor on Dr. Broughton:

Governor Mike Beebe today named Dr. Stephen Broughton of Pine Bluff to the University of Arkansas Board of Trustees.

Broughton, 54, works as a Staff Psychiatrist for the Southeast Arkansas Behavioral Healthcare System in Pine Bluff. After obtaining his bachelor's degree at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff, Broughton received his medical degree at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. He is the third person in his family to graduate from both schools and his son, currently enrolled at UAMS, would be the fourth.

"Stephen has strong family traditions at two University of Arkansas institutions, and is dedicated to giving back to the U of A System," Beebe said. "He has told me of his desire to be an advocate for all the represented schools and to continue serving the state that has helped him and his family succeed in life."

Previously, Governor Beebe appointed Broughton to the War Memorial Stadium Commission.

The appointment replaces Carl Johnson of Little Rock and expires March 1, 2022.

Add a comment