Pryor responds on USDA office closures | Arkansas Blog

Pryor responds on USDA office closures



The U.S. Department of Agriculture has announced plans to close 16 USDA and Farm Service agencies in Arkansas. They are the National Resource Conservation Service in Pulaski County, five rural development offices in Izard, Faulkner, Hot Spring, White and Sevier counties and 10 Farm Service Agency offices in Bradley, Fulton, Garland, Izard, Johnson, Lafayette, Logan, Benton, Pulaski and Faulkner counties.

Said U.S. Sen. Mark Pryor:

There is no question that each and every USDA office in Arkansas provides a valuable service to its community, and I am concerned about another attempt to balance the budget on the back of rural America. I will work to ensure that the USDA’s criteria for closures is clear and that communities have a fair opportunity to voice their needs and rationale for keeping these facilities open.

I'm waiting for the Arkansas Tea Party Republican news releases saying this is one budget cut that shouldn't have been considered by the Obama administration.

Comments (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8

Add a comment

Add a comment