Three-way race for House seat | Arkansas Blog

Three-way race for House seat



The secretary of state announced today that an independent candidate had qualified for the special election to fill the House District 54 seat in Crittenden County vacated after Rep. Fred Smith's conviction of a felony. The independent, D'James "Two" Rogers, has former Democratic ties and Democrats are nervous that he'll split the Democratic turnout in a traditionally Democratic area and give a leg up to the Republican nominee.


Little Rock, Ark. — Secretary of State Mark Martin announced today that D’James “Two” Rogers has collected the required number of verified signatures to be placed on the ballot as an Independent candidate for the July 12, 2011, Special Election for District 54 State Representative.

The following candidates are running to fill the Crittenden County seat vacated by former Rep. Fred Smith:

• Velmar Bailey (R) — Earle, Ark.
• Kim Felker (D) — Crawfordsville, Ark.
• Willie Gammon (D) — Earle, Ark.
• John Geelan (R) — Marion, Ark.
• Hudson Hallum (D) — Marion, Ark.
• Lorraine Robinson (D) — West Memphis, Ark.
• D’James “Two” Rogers (I) — West Memphis, Ark.

Comments (3)

Showing 1-3 of 3

Add a comment

Add a comment