Democrats elect Will Bond as chair | Arkansas Blog

Democrats elect Will Bond as chair



NEW CHAIR: Will Bond
Zac Wright, Gov. Mike Beebe's campaign manager, is as good a Twitter feed to follow today as any for reports from the Democratic State Convention in Hot Springs. Gov. Beebe is touting the state's rise in education rankings (no thanks to Tea Party or GOP). New chair Will Bond has laid out plans to reinvigorate county committees (does reinvigoration count Marion Berry as Arkansas County chair?)

Roby Brock is also covering.

Party news release:

(HOT SPRINGS) - Former State Representative Will Bond of Jacksonville was officially elected chairman of the Democratic Party of Arkansas today in Hot Springs, saying Arkansas Democrats are needed now more than ever to provide responsible leadership that represents Arkansas values.

"Will Bond shares my belief that Arkansas Democrats can continue to lead our state through tough economic times," Governor Mike Beebe said. "Working with our Democratic-led legislature, we passed the largest tax cut in the history of our state while maintaining a balanced budget and oversaw the announcement of more than 26,000 jobs. We believe in making Arkansas better today than it was yesterday, but not nearly as great as it will be tomorrow."

Governor Beebe spoke at the State Committee Meeting along with state constitution officers, Attorney General Dustin McDaniel and State Treasurer Martha Shoffner, as well as Congressman Mike Ross. Officers for the Democratic Party of Arkansas were elected shortly after.

“Arkansas Democrats have responsibly led our State through tough economic times while making sure that the future of Arkansas will be brighter than the past,” Bond said. “While others focus on politics, Arkansas Democrats focus on good policy to insure a great future. The hard work and great policies of Arkansas Democrats from McMath to Bumpers to Pryor to Clinton and now to Beebe have always given children the chance to have greater opportunity than their parents. Arkansas Democrats are needed again now, more than ever, to lead this state to its promising future.”

Other officers elected included Karen Garcia, Treasurer; Steve Jones, Secretary; Gary Phillips, Second Vice Chair; and Dawne Vandiver, First Vice Chair. Former Chairman Todd Turner delivered remarks at the event.

"The Democratic Party of Arkansas has seen many notable achievements over the past two years, and I have no doubt that Arkansas Democrats will continue providing strong leadership under Governor Beebe and Chairman Bond," Turner said. "It has been my true honor to serve the DPA, and I sincerely thank all of those who were involved during my tenure as Chair."

Elections for the DPA officers were held during the first State Committee Meeting of the year on Saturday, February 12 at the Hot Springs Convention Center.

Sign up for the Daily Update email

Comments (7)

Showing 1-7 of 7

Add a comment

Add a comment