Tea Party rallying support to kill health reform in AR | Arkansas Blog

Tea Party rallying support to kill health reform in AR

by

25 comments

A Tea Party email found its way to my inbox this morning. You can see the entire thing pasted on the jump. Basically, it's a call from the Tea Party rallying its members to urge their representatives to vote for David Meeks's bill that would kill federal health reform in Arkansas. The bill should come up for debate in the Public Health Committee in about one hour. The email lists each representative on the committee and tells constituents exactly how and when to contact their reps. Please tell me if I'm wrong, but I don't think there is any comparable effort going on with the left.

I'm pretty sure this is the link to watch the committee's live stream.

Blue Hog Report has a couple of good pieces on the bill. Read here and here.

UPDATE: A spokesman for the attorney general's office says if Meeks's bill is passed, it "virtually assures that the state will be sued."

Help Us Get Freedom Of Choice in Health Care Passed in Arkansas - Up for vote tomorrow, Tuesday, 10:00 am
Email and Call —
(This is our time to show how much clout the Tea Party Movement Can Muster! We Must Not Let All Our Labor in The Past Go For Naught)

Call and email committee members (information below) and encourage them to vote for HB1053 — An Act To Ensure Freedom Of Choice In Health Care For All Arkansans; and To Prevent Involuntary Enrollments in Health Care Insurance Programs. This bill is sponsored by conservative legislators in an effort to thwart the efforts of the Obama Health Care Bill, Meeks and Altes, and is to be voted on tomorrow about 10:00 am. Meeks also said if the health insurance mandate portion of Obamacare is allowed to stand, Arkansas may be burdened with as much as $100 million per year in additional Medicaid costs.

Other states have passed similar laws to this one in Arkansas. Our Governor and Attorney General have refused to join the lawsuits in which 26 other states are participating to stop the Obama Health Care. We need to get this bill passed to send our own executive branch a message and to protect ourselves since they won't.

For information about the bill and talking points see more detail below in red font that was sent out by Northeast Arkansas Tea Party and written by Curtis Coleman.

Email the entire committee (Public Health Committee) tonight or early in the morning (see email addresses below) with a note asking them to vote HB1053, the Freedom Of Choice in Health Care, out of committee. You can do this in one email by cutting and pasting the following emails into the address box of your email. We have learned that legislators open emails more during the very time they are voting than any other time if the subject line indicates it is about something they are discussing and voting on. So put in the subject line: " Re: HB1053, Freedom of Choice Health Care Bill" or something similar to that.

Then call and leave a message with two representatives on the committee. All you need to say when you call the House number at 501-682-6211 is to tell them you want to leave a message with two legislators (pick two from the list below that are on the committee) and ask them to vote for HB1053 the Freedom of Choice in Health Care bill. You may want to mention you don't want taxpayers to be stuck with the $100 million dollars Obama care will cost us in Arkansas Butch Wilkins is a representative for some of area near Jonesboro, Bono and Westside School District that is on this committee.

linda.tyler@arkansashouse.org
jwoods93@gmail.com
fredallen99@comcast.net
billy.gaskill@arkansashouse.org
buddy.lovell@arkansashouse.org
bryan.king@arkansashouse.org
hallc@arkleg.state.ar.us
bhyde@hydco.com
pennartzt@arkleg.state.ar.us
wagnerc@arkleg.state.ar.us
jword@aaasea.org
leaa@arkleg.state.ar.us
butch.wilkins@arkansashouse.org
mperry@windstream.net
andymayberry@windstream.net
greg@gregleding.com
jeff@jeffwardlaw.com
Sheilla.Lampkin@arkansashouse.org
stephanie.malone@arkansashouse.org

Names of Committee members for whom you can leave a message

Linda Tyler Chair, Chair
Jon Woods Vice Chair
Fred Allen
Billy Gaskill
Buddy Lovell
Bryan B. King
Clark Hall
Barry Hyde
Tracy Pennartz
Charlotte Wagner
James Word
Andrea Lea
Andy Mayberry
Butch Wilkins
Mark Perry
Stephanie Malone
Greg Leding
Jeff Wardlaw
Shelia Lampkin
Garry L. Smith

More information
Subject: Act to Insure Freedom of Choice in Health Care
From: Curtis@CurtisColemanInstitute.com
To: lusterbryan@hotmail.com
Date: Mon, 24 Jan 2011 10:39:09 -0500

Arkansas Attorney General Dustin McDaniel has refused to join the lawsuit
against the Obamacare insurance mandate, calling the legal action by 26
other states “frivolous.”_

Arkansas House Bill 1053, _“AN ACT TO ENSURE FREEDOM OF CHOICE IN HEALTHCARE FOR ALL ARKANSANS; AND TO PREVENT INVOLUNTARY ENROLLMENTS IN HEALTHCARE INSURANCE PROGRAMS,_” will be heard by the Arkansas House Public Health Committee _(see list below)_ on Tuesday, January 25, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 130 at the Arkansas State Capitol in Little Rock. The bill is sponsored by Representatives David Meeks (R-Conway) and Denny Altes (R-Fort Smith).

Rep. Meeks explained that the bill does not require a repeal of Obamacare,
nor does it obligate Arkansas’s Attorney General or Governor to join in
current lawsuits against Obamacare.

However if this legislation passes, which would protect Arkansans from being
legally required to purchase health insurance, and is signed into law and
should the State find itself in a lawsuit with the federal government or a
third party, the State’s Attorney General would be legally required to
defend the State’s law. Arkansas Attorney General Dustin McDaniel has
refused to join the lawsuit against Obamacare’s insurance mandate, calling
the legal action by 26 other states “frivolous.”

Rep. Meeks said should the State be sued because of its adoption of this
legislation, [2]The Goldwater Institute of Phoenix, AZ has indicated it
would defend the State’s law _pro bono_. Meeks also said if the health
insurance mandate portion of Obamacare is allowed to stand, Arkansas may be
burdened with as much as $100 million per year in additional Medicaid costs.
Committee members to cut and paste in your email (One or two of them don't have email addresses)

From the ArkTimes store

Comments (25)

Showing 1-25 of 25

Add a comment
 

Add a comment

Clicky