What about it, Gov. Beebe | Arkansas Blog

What about it, Gov. Beebe



Correspondent says Gov. Mike Beebe is standing in the way of legislation to increase the amount the state pays to county jails for holding state prisoners. The bill orginally called for upping the rate from $28 to $40 a day. It's been amended to $35, but ...

Members of the Pulaski Quorum Court have written the governor urging help from the state for jail overcrowding it is causing.

The Honorable Mike Beebe
Arkansas Governor
State Capitol, Room 250
Little Rock , AR   72201
RE:       House Bill 1590
Dear Governor Beebe:
            The Pulaski County Quorum Court would like to ask your support for the referenced House Bill, which would increase the amount counties are reimbursed for housing state inmates from $28 per day to $35 per day.
            As we understand it, there has been additional legislation proposed that would allow the per diem increase to be funded with Department of Corrections carryover funds.
            We know you are aware that Pulaski County is not the only county that has struggled to continue to fund as many beds as possible to house inmates in our detention facility.  Since the state reimbursement amount has not been increased since 2002, and the cost to fund this increase could be paid from the Department of Corrections carry over we urge you to consider supporting House Bill 1590, and to release the turn back funds to counties.
            We are sure you agree it is the duty of those of us in state and local government to ensure the safety and well being of our citizens by continuing to house as many of those ordered to be incarcerated by our court systems as we can possibly budget for.  Your support of increasing the amount the state reimburses counties for housing state inmates is crucial to counties being able to provide sufficient jail space to do so.  
Pulaski County Justices of the Peace
Doug Reed, District 1                                       Dawne Vandiver, District 2                  
Kathy Lewison, District 3                                 Julie Blackwood, District 4
Wilandra Dean, District 5                                  Donna Massey, District 6
Patricia Dicker, District 7                                  Curtis Keith, District 8
Mary Louise Williams, District 9                       Robert Green, District 10
Bob Johnson, District 11                                   Jeff Rollins, District 12
Phil Stowers, District 13                                   Charles Roberson, District 14
Steve Goss, District 15                                    

Sign up for the Daily Update email

Comments (2)

Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

Add a comment