Independents file | Arkansas Blog

Independents file


1 comment
Several independent candidates have filed for legislative seats. The secretary of state rounds up those who filed by the deadline today. Signatures still must be verified.


LITTLE ROCK, AR)—Today at noon marked the deadline for those wishing to run for state and district offices as independent candidates to submit nominating petitions to the secretary of state’s office for verification.   


Ten individuals filed notices of candidacy to run as independent candidates during the March candidate filing period.  Seven of them submitted their nominating petitions to the secretary of state’s office by today’s deadline

Bonnie B. Brown                            State Representative District 81

Trent Eilts                                        State Representative District 15

 Jeffrey D. Hall                                 State Representative District 70

John Wayne Harty                         State Representative District 48

Marjorie LeClair                             State Representative District 70

Robert “Bob” E. Philyaw               State Representative District 54

Mal Stokes, Jr.                                State Representative District 13

The number of signatures required varies by office.  The secretary of state’s office will verify that the petitions contain the required number of valid signatures before certifying the candidates for the November 4 General Election ballot.


Sign up for the Daily Update email


Showing 1-1 of 1


Add a comment