Pulaski County filings | Arkansas Blog

Pulaski County filings



Pulaski Clerk Pat O'Brien's office swears this link for county candidates will be updated shortly after filing ends at noon today. Through Thursday last week, it didn't show the expected county judge race, which will feature a Democratic primary between incumbent Buddy Villines and bail bondsman Buddy York, and Republican Phil Wyrick.

At last check, the list included a primary race between incumbent JP Wilandra Dean and Kenyon Lowe; two Democrats, Kathy Lewison and Robert Hymer, and a Republican, state Rep. Sid Rosenbaum, for the JP seat Alan Kerr is vacating; and JP Charles Roberson getting a Republican challenge from William Porterfield, who figured in the machinations of the Arkansas Young Professionals Network, mentioned here and elsewhere a while back. There's at least one contested constable's race, too.

You can go here for the various races shaping up for district judgeships. These used to be called municipal judges. Among the contests: Six people are running to be Wrightsville district judge. North Little Rock incumbent Jim Hamilton faces a challenge from Heather Callaway. Little Rock has a three-way contest for the criminal division and a four-way race for the environmental division of the city's district courts.

UPDATE: A Republican, Patrick Mulligan, turned up to run for sheriff against incumbent Doc Holladay. JPs Annette McCaleb, Mary Louise Williams and Phil Stowers also drew opponents.


Comments (4)

Showing 1-4 of 4

Add a comment

Add a comment