Failing schools named | Arkansas Blog

Failing schools named



The state Department of Education released its annual list of failing schools today, and Little Rock's magic number is 26, including every high school but Parkview. That's a net increase of two from last year -- four schools were added to the list (Wilson, Baseline, Geyer Springs and Mabelvale elementaries), one (Martin Luther King Elementary) came off the list, and one (Southwest Middle School) closed.

Schools get on the list for failing to make "adequate yearly progress" in test scores -- both schoolwide averages and in subgroups including race, socioeconomic status, special education and English language learners. They come off the list after making sufficient progress for two straight years. Five Little Rock schools on the list made adequate progress last year.

Pulaski County has 17 schools on the list this year, down from 18 last year; North Little Rock has 13, up from 12 last year. Also in trouble: Academics Plus Charter School in Maumelle, for its overall and white students' math scores.

Here's the state Ed. Dept. news release.

Here's a statewide spreadsheet.

Comments (11)

Showing 1-11 of 11

Add a comment

Add a comment