New judges | Arkansas Blog

New judges


Gov. Mike Beebe has filled three judgeships created by the 2007 legislature, with one going to Rep. Chris Thyer's wife, Cindy. Release on the jump.


Governor Mike Beebe announced today that he has made appointments for three new judgeships created under Act 168 of the 2007 Legislative Session.  The appointees are:

Cindy Thyer, Jonesboro, to the Second Judicial District. Thyer, 37, served as a Second District Judge from November, 2005 to December, 2006. She has also been appointed to the Civil Jury Instruction Committee by the Arkansas Supreme Court and is a former Deputy Prosecuting Attorney in Craighead County.

David Clark, Conway, to the 20th Judicial District. Clark, 39, currently serves as the Chief Deputy Prosecuting Attorney for the 20th District. He has worked in that office for more than 12 years, and was a prosecutor in the Sixth Judicial District prior to that.

Barbara Elmore, Lonoke, to the 23rd Judicial District. Elmore, 53, has served as a Circuit Judge in other divisions of the 23rd District and as District Judge of the Southern District of Lonoke County, Lonoke Division. Elmore has also worked in private practice as a criminal defense attorney.

By statute, the appointments will expire on January 1, 2009, after elections are held to fill the three positions.  Voters will cast their ballots for the judgeships during the 2008 primary election.  The judges will then take office the following January and serve six-year terms.



Sign up for the Daily Update email

Add a comment